Full Moon and New Moon for March 2021

Last Quarter - Mar 2021Last Quarter
March 6 - 01:30 UTC
New Moon - Mar 2021New Moon
March 13 - 10:21 UTC
First Quarter - Mar 2021First Quarter
March 21 - 14:40 UTC
Full Moon - Mar 2021Full Moon
March 28 - 18:48 UTC
Last Quarter - Mar 2021
Last Quarter
March 6
01:30 UTC
New Moon - Mar 2021
New Moon
March 13
10:21 UTC
First Quarter - Mar 2021
First Quarter
March 21
14:40 UTC
Full Moon - Mar 2021
Full Moon
March 28
18:48 UTC

March 2021 Moon Details

The Full Moon for this month will occur later in the month on Sunday, March 28th. The New Moon is earlier in the month on Saturday, March 13th.

Full Worm Moon

March Full Worm Moon

March’s full moon is commonly called the Full Worm Moon. This is because of the earthworms that wriggle out of the ground as the earth begins to thaw in March. Here’s a little known fact about March’s full moon: it was called the Worm Moon only by Southern Native American tribes. In fact, there’s no way the Northern tribes would have ever called it the Worm Moon - and the reason why is fascinating.

Essentially, earthworms did not exist in Northern America. It would be literally impossible for Northern tribes to see worms popping up in March. All the earthworms you see in Northern America today are invasive species brought in by colonists. These earthworms were brought over either out of a misguided intent to help fertilize the soil, or as an accident along with transported plants or the soil used for ballast in ships. Little did the colonists know that during the last ice age, glaciers had spread so far across Canada and the northern parts of the United States that all earthworms had been completely wiped out.  

When the deep ice melted 12,000 years ago, the native forests in those areas grew back and adapted to the loss of earthworms. The growth of these forests became dependent on a layer of duff, which is a compost layer comprised of decomposing leaves and other rotting organic matter. If you ever visit one of these native forests, you will be asked to clean your shoes and make sure it’s free of earthworm eggs. That’s because while it’s normally harmless everywhere else, earthworms will aggressively destroy the native forest’s duff layer by eating right through it.

This is why in Northern American tribes such as the Shawnee tribe, the Worm Moon is called the Sap Moon instead, as a reminder for the tribes that they can begin tapping maple syrup. In general, March’s full moon is known as a herald for the beginning of spring and new agricultural cycles. The Anglo-Saxons even used the Worm Moon as a way to predict the state of their crops. They called it the Storm Moon if it was stormy, which was a sign that their crops would fail. But if it was dry, they called it the Rugged Moon, an indication of a bounteous harvest.

One of its other names is the Chaste Moon, symbolizing the purity of early spring. The Pueblo tribe named it the Moon When the Leaves Break Forth, while in Shoshone culture it was known as the Warming Moon. Sometimes it is called the Crow Moon, after the crows and other birds that appear as winter draws to a close. Other times, it’s called the Crust Moon, because of the snow that becomes crusty when it thaws in the sun and freezes in the moonlight.

In India, March’s full moon is also seen as a symbol of the arrival of spring, and coincides with the festival of Holi. This is a riotous party where Indian communities all around the world engage in a huge water fight. Everyone goes out into the streets and sprays each other with colored water and powders, singing and dancing with strangers and loved ones alike. Playing and feasting together is a chance for you to repair relationships that have gone bad, reaffirming your existing social bonds as you move forward together into the new year.

Local Date and Time for March 2021 Full Moon in major cities around the world:

Los Angeles,
San Francisco,
Vancouver

March 28, 2021
11:48am PDT

Denver,
Salt Lake City,
Calgary

March 28, 2021
12:48pm MDT

Chicago,
Houston,
San Antonio

March 28, 2021
1:48pm CDT

New York,
Toronto,
Atlanta

March 28, 2021
2:48pm EDT

London,
Manchester,
Dublin

March 28, 2021
7:48pm BST

Paris,
Rome,
Berlin

March 28, 2021
8:48pm CEST

Athens,
Istanbul,
Helsinki

March 28, 2021
9:48pm EEST

Dubai,
Abu Dhabi,
Muscat

March 28, 2021
10:48pm +04

Bangalore,
Mumbai,
New Delhi

March 29, 2021
12:18am IST

Singapore,
Kuala Lumpur

March 29, 2021
2:48am +08

Perth,
Hong Kong,
Beijing

March 29, 2021
2:48am AWST

Sydney,
Brisbane,
Melbourne

March 29, 2021
5:48am AEDT

Thank you for subscribing to Moongiant's monthly Moon Updates!

You will receive a welcome email shortly then look for your first update on the 1st of next month.

Enter your email for custom Monthly Moon Updates!





Were you born on a Full Moon?
Click Here to find out